Jump to content



Video Premiere: EVERGREY's 'Weightless'

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Blabbermouth.net

  • Members
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Undisclosed

Posted 11 January 2019 - 01:49 PM

The official music video for the song "Weightless" from acclaimed Swedish dark melodic metal masters EVERGREY can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's upcoming studio album, titled "The Atlantic", which will be released on January 25 via AFM Records. EVERGREY again teamed up with Jacob Hansen, who — just like with the band's previous releases 2016's "The Storm Within" and 2014's "Hymns For The Broken" — took care of mixing and mastering."The Atlantic" sees the five EVERGREY members — frontman/songwriter Tom S. Englund, guitarist Henrik Danhage, bassist Johan Niemann, drummer Jonas Ekdahl and keyboardist Rikard Zander — manifest their excellent reputation as one of the most unusual and innovative progressive metal acts worldwide, presenting the third part of their "Hymns For The Broken" trilogy about the adventure of life, part one having been launched in 2014."As on 'Hymns For The Broken' and its 2016 successor 'The Storm Within', the new album is about events and experiences in our lives," Englund explains. "It's about relationships, beauty and darkness, about fortune and grief, about love, hate, despair, joy and everything connected with it. Life is like a journey across the ocean, on the way to distant shores."In line with the programmatic album title and its expressive cover artwork (designed by Greek artist Giannis Nakos, renowned for his work for OCEANS OF SLUMBER and HADES RISING, among others), EVERGREY takes its fans on a tempestuous expedition across the rough (prog metal) seas. The album kicks off with "A Silent Arc", one of the probably fiercest and toughest numbers that EVERGREY have ever recorded. "I love this song," confesses Englund. "It's really brutal in a certain kind of EVERGREY way, with guitars that you might expect from a band like BEHEMOTH, but certainly not from us. We've never sounded as dark or as raw before." The first two singles, "Weightless" and the anthemnic "All I Have", are both diverse highlights of a thoroughly haunting LP. "As with every album, we've given this one our all to come up with the optimum result," enthuses Englund, who produced "The Atlantic" together with drummer Jonas Ekdahl, about the driving sound. The 10 songs on the album all stand out with their amazing power, but also with their depth and exciting detail. "Departure", for example, embeds its vocals mainly in bass, drums, piano and acoustic guitar. "That kind of songwriting is something we've enjoyed doing on every album of this trilogy," Englund explains proudly, adding: "This number sounds like an expedition instead of being arranged like your typical three-and-a-half minute hit."Which applies to "The Atlantic" in general. Englund says: "It's probably our most complex and progressive release so far and includes all the elements that our fans love.""The Atlantic" track listing:01. A Silent Arc02. Weightless03. All I Have04. A Secret Atlantis05. The Tidal06. End Of Silence07. Currents08. Departure09. The Beacon10. This Ocean

Click here to view the full article.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Copyright © 2020 Your Company Name